Skip to content

Call Today 949-585-7400

Domestic Violence Penalties

A Criminal Defense Working to Reduce your penalties

If you have been charged with domestic violence or a related offense, such as spousal abuse or child abuse, it’s important to contact an experienced defense lawyer right away. There are several penalties associated with this crime that could negatively affect your rights and reputation for years to come. To discuss your rights, and how to protect them, you can email Ms. Landry and her staff here. In addition, you can listen to, and or download, her OC, CA Criminal Defense Attorney podcast episodes by clicking here.

Misdemeanor v. Felony Domestic Violence Charges

In the state of California a prosecutor can decide whether to file a misdemeanor or felony charge concerning domestic violence cases. These kind of cases are known as a “wobbler” cases because a prosecutor determines the severity of the charges depending on the situation and facts that are presented.

Factors the prosecutor will likely take into consideration when filing domestic violence charges include:

  • Whether the victim was seriously, debilitatingly, or fatally injured
  • Whether a weapon was used in conjunction with the crime
  • Whether the crime involved or was against a child or dependent adult
  • Whether the defendant was intoxicated with drugs or alcohol at the time of the crime
  • Whether a restraining order was violated as a result of the crime
  • Whether probation was violated as a result of the crime
  • Whether the defendant has a criminal record of violence and/or abuse

The penalties for a misdemeanor domestic violence offense are as follows:

  • Up to three years probation
  • Up to one year in county jail
  • Up to $6,000 in fines
  • Up to $10,000 in fines (If the convicted has a domestic violence record in the past seven years)
  • Up to $5,000 can be donated to a battered women’s shelter, or given to the victim of the incident as restitution
  • A restraining order can be issued to restrict any further contact with the victim
  • A protective order that protects the victim from any other harm
  • A sentenced time to community service
  • Counseling that is mandatory two times a week for up to a year

Felony domestic violence convictions carry the same penalties as a misdemeanor domestic violence charge, but with harsher punishments. For instance, instead of facing up to a year in county jail, a felony domestic violence charge carries the penalty of up to face two, three, four, or sometimes even five years in state prison. Another penalty unique to felony charges? A “strike” on your criminal record. If you accumulate three strikes (strikes are given for violent felonies), you will automatically be sentenced to 25 years to life in prison.

Contact an Experienced Orange County Domestic Violence Defense Attorney

If you are interested in learning more about the penalties associated with domestic violence charges, as well as what can be done to help you avoid such penalties, please contact an Orange County domestic violence lawyer at the Law Offices of Virginia L. Landry. We’d be happy to review your charges, advise you of your rights, and discuss possible defense strategies we feel would be effective in helping you fight your charges.

Contact or call now and revive a free initial consultation.

Request Your Free Case Review Today

When You’re Ready to Talk, We’re Here to Listen.

What Sets the Law Offices of

Virginia L. Landry Apart?

Rated a "Top DUI Attorney" and Board Certified in DUI Defense
Achieved a Perfect 10 Out of 10 Superb Rating On Avvo
Past President of the West Orange County Bar Association
Hundreds of Trials and Thousands of Motions Achieved for Clients

What Our Clients Are Saying

Protecting Our Clients Is Our Number One Priority