Defending Against an Arson Conviction
In order to articulate a clear understanding of your rights and build a strong, compelling defense case, it will be absolutely imperative to consult with an Orange County criminal defense lawyer if you or a loved one is under investigation for arson charges. According to California Penal Code §451, it is illegal to commit arson or to assist another individual in committing arson. Arson is defined as the act of intentionally setting fire to property, land, business, or residential property with malicious intent. To discuss your rights, and how to protect them, you can email Ms. Landry and her staff here. In addition, you can listen to, and or download, her OC, CA Criminal Defense Attorney podcast episodes by clicking here.
If you are convicted of arson, you may face up to 9 years in a state prison, depending on the case. For an arson conviction causing great bodily injury to another individual, you could face 5 to 9 years in a state prison. For an arson charge involving an inhabited dwelling, an individual could face 3 to 8 years in prison and 2 to 6 years for an uninhabited structure or forest land. For a second, third, fourth and so on arson conviction, an additional 3 to 5 years could be added on to the sentence. When a peace officer or firefighter is injured in the arson, an additional 3 to 5 years may be added on to the sentence.
Contact an Orange County Arson Attorney Today
As you can see, being charged with arson can hold serious repercussions on an individual. Besides the fact that the criminal accusation will go on your permanent record, you will be left having to explain the conviction to your current or future employers, risking your chances of getting a job. An arson attorney at the Law Offices of Virginia L. Landry, Inc. in Orange County can help build a strong case against your arson charges.
Don’t hesitate another moment longer, contact an Orange County arson attorney at our firm at today for a free case evaluation.